USA and Oz about same size and offset from Equator.
Therefore both should have same number of timezones, but they do not.
Moreover, 19 timezones in northern hemisphere, but 32 in southern.

This is compelling; also touches on International Date Line and the otherwise inexplicable large leaps in time across Diomede Islands (Bering Strait) which can be seen each from each other (~4 miles apart).

Brings back unanswered questions from my childhood … I “knew” back then something didn’t make sense. Didn’t you also?





In the Southern Hemisphere, time zones function similarly to those in the Northern Hemisphere, with adjustments made according to longitudinal lines to accommodate for differences in solar time across various regions. Here’s an overview of the time zones commonly observed in the Southern Hemisphere:

1. **Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)**: UTC serves as the global standard for timekeeping and is used as the reference point for calculating time offsets in different time zones. It is based on atomic time and is not subject to adjustments like daylight saving time. Many countries in the Southern Hemisphere use UTC as the basis for their local time.

2. **Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)**: GMT is the time at the prime meridian (0 degrees longitude) and is often used as a reference point for timekeeping. It serves as the basis for UTC and is equivalent to UTC when no daylight saving time is in effect.

3. **Time Zones**:
– **Western Standard Time (WST)**: Used in parts of Western Australia, WST is UTC+8 hours.
– **Central Standard Time (CST)**: Observed in parts of Australia, CST is UTC+9:30 hours.
– **Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)**: Used in eastern parts of Australia, including Sydney and Melbourne, AEST is UTC+10 hours.
– **New Zealand Standard Time (NZST)**: Used in New Zealand, NZST is UTC+12 hours.
– **Chatham Island Standard Time (CHAST)**: Observed on the Chatham Islands, CHAST is UTC+12:45 hours.
– **Tonga Standard Time (TST)**: Used in Tonga, TST is UTC+13 hours.
– **Samoa Standard Time (SST)**: Observed in Samoa, SST is UTC+13 hours.

4. **Daylight Saving Time (DST)**: Some countries in the Southern Hemisphere observe daylight saving time during the summer months to extend daylight hours in the evening. During DST, clocks are typically set forward by one hour. Not all countries in the Southern Hemisphere observe DST, and those that do may have different start and end dates.

It’s important to note that the specific time zones and their offsets may vary slightly between countries and regions within the Southern Hemisphere. Additionally, some regions may have non-standard timekeeping practices, especially in remote or sparsely populated areas.

Leave a Comment